Big Splash 2017

Returning for its fifth year, The Big Splash Band Comp will once more rouse the interests of hundreds of  unsigned, WA musicians with original tunes, as entries open next month.

The Big Splash, which has been running annually since 2013, is the brain child of astute business woman Maria Florides whose passion for the local music talent has inspired her into action.

The Big Splash point of difference among all band competitions – as well as the choice of judges, considered judging criteria, the across the board musician-first ideology & access to WA’s premier venue circuit – is the guaranteed $10,000 first place prize.

This year’s winner will join the likes of past winner’s POW! Negro (2016), Jacob Diamond (2015)Hideous Sun Demon (2014) and Scalphunter (2013) which having won $10K each, are not qualified to enter, unlike all previous other entrants and runners up.

Ms Florides said that 2017 would see the event reach new heights, building on the success of previous years.

“With no application fee, easy entry process and with so many new local bands emerging during the last 12 months, we are expecting this year’s competition to see more entrants than ever before.

“The talent that we see come through the competition each year is a testament to the burgeoning music scene that is growing here in Perth, and we are very proud to be a part of a network of events and initiatives that support young musicians.”

Some 200+ bands are expected to enter the competition for 2017 with 11 heats/finals held across a series of Perth’s most iconic music venues including Jack Rabbit Slims, Badlands, The Bird and The Odd Fellow, with a judging panel consisting of notable ‘Perth-onalities’ and industry leaders.

Entries for The Big Splash open to bands March 13 via The Big Splash website, with the first heat kicking off June 29.

The competition wraps up with its grand finale at Jack Rabbit Slims on September 9.

More information can be found at www.thebigsplashbandcomp.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *