WA Media Awards – Get Your Entry In Now!

(MEAA, 2016)

UPDATE: The deadline has been extended until August 13th! Get your entries in soon!

The WA Media Awards are fast approaching and applications close August 3rd! Since 1987, the Awards have gone out to various talented West Australian writers, and 2018 could be your time to shine.

The WA Media Awards are held by the Media Entertainment and Arts Alliance (MEAA) every year and contain numerous categories for submission, ranging from traditional print journalism, multi-media journalism, and even news photography.


Categories include:


News Coverage

Feature Writing – The Hugh Schmitt Prize

Headline Journalism (ten words or less)

Suburban – Three News Stories/Features within a 70km radius of Perth


Community/Regional Photography

News Photograph

Feature Photograph/Photographic Essay


News Story or Feature


News Story or Feature


This category was created to showcase, benchmark and promote the professionalism of online reporting. It recognises newsworthy, original, and ethical journalism in the online field. Judges will also consider innovative techniques in news gathering and presentation.

Entrants may enter a single report or a series on the same issue or topic comprising up to three (3) reports as a single entry.

ALL MEDIA (including online publications)

Freelance Journalist


Political Report – The Beck Prize

Health/Medical Report

Science and Environmental Report

Business, Economics or Finance Report

Sports Report The Gilmour-Christian Prize

Social Equity Report

Regional & Community –Three News Stories/Features outside a 70km radius of Perth

New Journalist or Cadet – The Eaves-Prior-Day Prize

Culture and Arts Report – The A.H. Kornweibel Arts Prize

Columnist – The Matt Price Prize

Outstanding Journalism Student Award


Along with these categories, multiple special prizes are given out to exceptional work, including West Australian Journalist of the Year, Outstanding Contribution to Journalism, and the Arthur Lovekin Prize for Excellence in Journalism 2018.

The Awards night will be held on October 27th at the Aloft Rooftop Ballroom and Terrace.

To send in work for judgement, or for more information, go to https://www.meaa.org/meaa-media/state-media-awards/wa-media-awards/.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *